Overcoming Obstacles: Give up…or Get up?

“Obstacles are like steps, when you overcome them, you go higher.” ~ Terry Mark

Sticking to any diet and exercise plan is never easy.  There were many times I would feel that trying to be fit and healthy was too hard.

It was hard to stick to my diet when people would be having their cake and eating it too…right in front of me.

It was hard to get up before 5am to exercise when everyone else in my house was fast asleep.

It was hard to go to a restaurant and order chicken broth, salad with no fat (or low fat) dressing along with a glass of water, when the rest of the table was indulging in rice and peas and fried chicken, doused in gravy.

And it was hard to spend an hour on meal preparation for the next day when I could be on the couch watching “Scandal” or doing some online shopping for things I wouldn’t really be using anyway.

I remained motivated by doing several things:

  • Focused on my REASON: I kept my photos when I weighed the most nearby, so I would remember why I was doing this in the first place;

    fat face pic
    Mrs H Funeral group - edited

  • Set a series of small GOALS: (such as fitting into a dress one size smaller), then rewarding myself (buying a dress in the new smaller size) when achieving each goal;

    Sunset Beach Vacation 112

  • Focused on the REWARD: As I grew to love exercise, my reward could actually be an extra half hour at the gym (which helped me to reach my ultimate goal. 🙂 )
    image1

The most important thing to remember is that a setback doesn’t need to be permanent. Family and friends provided core support during some of my weakest moments. So, find and build your support system, which will make your journey an easier one.

Would you prefer to give up…or get up?

3 thoughts on “Overcoming Obstacles: Give up…or Get up?

  1. Carla thanks for sharing your wonderful journey. I’m finding it very encouraging and helpful as I try to make my way back as close to my old “normal” After the stroke! It’s a gift with so many practical, relevant tips!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad to be able to “pay it forward,” Hilary. There were countless people who encouraged and supported me along the way. The journey back to “normal” may seem insurmountable at times, but before you know it, you’ll be looking back and realizing how far you’ve come.

      Like

  2. This is very motivating. You are amazing and look beautiful. We all have a journey and as you have mentioned in your post, encouraging others and focusing on the end result of being healthy, which then turns into feeling beautiful is the key. Thanks for sharing your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

