Goal Setting.

A goal properly set is halfway reached. ~ Zig Ziglar

When I decided over four years ago to make a change, it was not the first time I had attempted to do so.  I would lose weight and before one year had passed, I would regain what I had lost…plus added interest (extra pounds.) Most of us know that when we want to achieve something, the first step should be to determine what we would like to achieve; i.e. to set our goal. During my previous attempts, my goal would be to lose weight for a particular event or to fit into a particular dress. Once this was achieved, that was the end of it.  I had “won,” therefore there was no need to continue with whatever I had done to lose the weight. What was different this time was that my goal was not centered on an event or an outfit. My ultimate goal was to become healthier, more active and lose weight within a reasonable time frame. If your goal is to lose 50 pounds within a month, when it took you more than a year to gain those pounds, chances are you will end up frustrated and nowhere near your target.

scale

My advice to you is to ensure that the goals you set are longer-term, if you want them to be more effective and result in a lasting change.

Here are some other tips to consider when setting your goal(s):

According to Health.com, to achieve the best results, your goal should be SMART:

  • Specific. Make your goal as specific as possible so you can work toward it and achieve it.
  • Measurable. A goal must be measureable so you can know when you have reached it.
  • Accountable. Be accountable for everything you eat and do.
  • Realistic. Set a realistic goal…
  • Timeframe. …to be accomplished within a realistic timeframe.

Keep in mind that you can also set a series of smaller goals. You can reward yourself for each successful achievement then move on to the next.

2 thoughts on “Goal Setting.

  1. Carla, I will be in Jamaica from May 3rd until The 14th. Time in Kingston for the first few days. I have been trying to get out and get healthier without much success. I would buy you coffee or a glass of wine if we could meet-up and have a chat about the process. Blessings and bliss. Richard

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

